Christmas Is Coming

Gift Ideas For The Horse Lover

Christmas is just over 6 weeks away and since I am putting the finishing touches on my book before submitting it to my publisher, I decided to keep this weeks post fun and share my favorite small equestrian retail shops and non-profits, and hopefully you will feel inclined to show them some love this holiday season!

Lydia Marie Elizabeth is a water color artist I found on instagram….and after ordering a painting for one of my daughters for her birthday, I discovered that they are friends! Lydia paints the most amazing and vibrant foxhunting scenes, mostly of the Middleburg, Virginia area. Unfortunately, I am out of wall space to own one of her own, but I have gifted 2 of her works to my daughter and if anyone decides to gift me one, I will happily make room somewhere! In the meantime, I am on my 3rd year of her calendars, which make lovely trainer or hostess gifts! Lydia Marie Elizabeth | Artist

Pony Macaroni makes adorable stall signs, as well as wallpaper, shirts, fun riding tights, bridle/halter tags and more! All of my stall signs came from here and they always get compliments from guests!Personalized horse products gifs Pony Macaroni

Two Donkeys And A Horse on Etsy features cute apparel, gifts, shoes, photography and vintage equestrian decor for the horse and donkey lover. TwoDonkeysandAHorse - Etsy

Also on Etsy is Dressage life, with cute dressage related shirts and bags. DressageLife - Etsy

Grey Horse Candle is also on etsy and makes the most amazing candles, soaps and body butter! Eventers will know Leyna from when she and her mom ran Rocking Horse Stables. GreyHorseCandleCo - Etsy

The Faire Equestrian makes embroidered products, including tote bags, jackets and vests. The Faire Equestrian

My favorite sheepskin saddle pad came from Fleeceworks and is an extravagant gift for the most deserving horse on your Christmas list! Gabriel was suffering from a bizarre swelling after our rides this summer and Judy was the only one who was able to identify the swelling as a heat callous. Judy is very supportive of the equestrian community and sponsors several eventers, including Tammi Smith, winner of this year’s Land Rover 3 Day Event. Fleeceworks

Other fantastic small equestrian businesses that I love and can be found on Instagram include:

-Mango Bay Design: cute t-shirts, belts and jackets

-Dapple Up Horses for a fabulous shampoo for your horse

-Epona Products for the best and most innovative grooming tools for your horse

-Hart Equestrian for home decor

-Deco Pony for custom stall accessories and tack

-Silver Oak Farm for equine art

If you prefer to donate to a worthwhile charity, these are some of my favorites:

Both of my donkeys came from Peaceful Valley Donkey Rescue. They are based in Texas, but they have satellite farms throughout the United States. Peaceful Valley Donkey Rescue - Home

-Special Horses is a different type of horse rescue. Rather, what they do is fundraise for small equine rescues and distribute the money to them. When I was running a non-profit horse rescue, I was fortunate to be a recipient of their generosity. Home | Special Horses

-Sunkissed Acres is one of those special smaller horse rescues, located in Georgia. They also help rescue dogs and cats and other animals. Sunkissed Acres

-Rosemary Farm is a horse sanctuary in New York, dedicated to rescuing horses at need and in danger of being slaughtered. Rosemary Farm Sanctuary Inc. - Where Horses Get to be Horses (networkforgood.com)

-Horse Angels is found on facebook and Penny Parker attends local auctions, including New Holland, and pulls at risk horses, ponies and donkeys out and finds good homes for them all.Horse Angels is found on facebook and Penny Parker attends local auctions, including New Holland, and pulls at risk horses, ponies and donkeys out and finds good homes for them all.

I hope that this blog helps you make some decisions about your Christmas shopping list, while supporting small equestrian businesses and rescues.

Next week I will be back to business, with a very important blog that every horse person should read.