Happy Memorial Day!

Happy Memorial Day!

I cannot believe that the month of May is coming to an end and summer is here….as one who reluctantly lives in Florida, I dread the next 4 months and look forward to the fall arriving. We are being told that this will not only be another hot summer for the record books, but we are to expect a busier than normal hurricane season.

Therefore, rather than blogging about anything specific, I am going to ask you to re-read my disaster planning series and get yourself ready for whatever your area may experience, whether it be hurricanes, wildfires or flooding. My hometown in Pennsylvania has experienced an outbreak of rare tornadoes in the past week, so we need to be prepared for whatever Mother Nature throws our way.

I am purposefully keeping this blog short. My manuscript for my book, Common Sense Horse Keeping, came back from the editor and has gone to the publisher and is currently being formatted for both an E-book and a paperback book. Instead of focusing on my blog, I am working on the cover design and format of my book, creating an author website, and opening accounts with the sites where my book will be wholesaled and retailed! I am so excited that this book is finally becoming a reality! It was supposed to have been published and in book stores by last February, but the publisher and I were not seeing eye to eye. After disagreeing with their editor who, after some research, turns out isn’t an editor, and after being told to dumb down my book, I parted ways with the publisher. As my husband is fond of saying, things happen for a reason! I found a better publisher and an amazing editor! So please stay tuned for updates and we are aiming for a fall publication!

So happy trails and Tally Ho and I’ll be back next week with a new blog!

Thoroughbreds enjoying a spring day in Lexington, Ky. Photo by the author.